New Executive Editor for Psychometrika

Headshot of Sandip Sinharay

After a highly successful and extended term as Executive Editor of Psychometrika, Dr. Matthias von Davier will transition out of the role as Dr. Sandip Sinharay becomes Executive Editor. Dr. Sinharay began handling new submissions July 1, 2023 and will assume full responsibilities as Executive Editor January 1, 2024. Dr. Sinharay is a Distinguished Presidential Appointee in the Research & Development division at Educational Testing Service and comes to the position of Executive Editor with a wealth of editorial experience. He served as editor of Journal of Educational Measurement from 2020-2022 and the Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics from 2010-2014. We thank Dr. von Davier for his excellent service and look forward to the future of Psychometrika under Dr. Sinharay’s editorship.

Please see the following link for more information about the Psychometrika Editorial Council.


Sandip Sinharay is a Distinguished Presidential Appointee in the Research & Development division at ETS. He received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the Department of Statistics at Iowa State University in 2001 and his M.Stat degree from Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata, India. Dr. Sinharay has performed research on a variety of topics including Bayesian statistics, detection of test fraud, test fairness, missing data analysis, item response theory, model checking and model selection methods, and reporting of diagnostic scores. Some of his research has been funded by U.S. federal agencies including the Department of Education and the National Science Foundation. Dr. Sinharay is a past editor of the Journal of Educational Measurement (2020-2022) and the Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics (2010-2014). He has received six awards from the National Council on Measurement in Education: the Bradley Hanson award for Contributions to Educational Measurement (in 2020 and 2018), the award for Technical or Scientific Contributions to the Field of Educational Measurement (in 2009 and 2015), the Jason Millman Promising Measurement Scholar Award (2006), and the Alicia Cascallar Award for an Outstanding Paper by an Early Career Scholar (2005). He received the ETS Scientist award in 2008 and the ETS Presidential award twice. Dr. Sinharay has coedited two published volumes: Handbook of Statistics, Volume 26 (2007; with C. R. Rao) and Looking Back (2011; with Neil J. Dorans). He authored or coauthored more than 100 articles in peer-reviewed journals and edited books.


Log in